Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

 

Breaking the Colour Wheel (Black) ~~ Circuit Challenge

Welcome all to the next circuit challenge. In this challenge, somewhat like the 'non-colour creatures', you will need to create a MONO Black card which gains life. That is you that is gaining the life, not your opponent. This challenge will give:

First: 1 follow, 6 favourites.
Second: 4 favourites.
Third: 2 favourites.
HM: 1 favourite.

additionally, as this is a circuit challenge:

First: 1CP
Second: 3/4CP
Third: 1/2CP
HM: 1/4CP

This contest will close on Saturday, the 3rd of June.

3 entries per smith.

Happy crafting!
«13

Comments

  • Example:

    image

    (Real Card)
  • edited May 19
    I don't see how this breaks the color wheel at all. Especially your example as it's a very common theme.
  • edited May 19
    @Jyagaimasu

    Are old cards allowed, or only new?
  • whoopsies
  • Well, its sort of life gain. Its just "life not lost"
  • edited May 19
    @modnation675
    Well I had to find a card with gaining life. It isn't really breaking as such but bending.
    It is still uncommon for black cards not involved with Orshov to gain life.
  • @creepybeagle
    It has to specifically gain life.
  • edited May 19
    1st entry:
    image

    Using my newly created "Bolas-Mechanic" Scheming:
    (If you drew two cards or more this turn, [EFFECT].)
  • edited May 19
    @Jyagaimasu

    Are old cards allowed, or only new?

  • edited May 19
    Black has lots of life gaining cards like those vampires... and those aren't orzhov related. It's not even breaking the color wheel.
  • @modnation675 @sanjaya666
    I believe the nuance here isn't so much doing something that black already does, but doing it in a way that black might not do.
  • edited May 20
    @Corwinnn, I took your advice and made a nuanced design. No black card already does what this one does. It's sort of a play on Soul Feast-type cards. You can use it to gain life yourself... but you lose it immediately.
    If targeting yourself: pair my design with Defiant Bloodlord, or Lich, or Sanguine Bond.
    If targeting the opponent: combo with Erebos, Sanguine Bond, Exquisite Blood, False Curse, or Tainted Remedy.

    image
  • edited May 26
    image
    Entry one.
  • @MrRansom
    The issue there is that it specifically has to make "you" gain life...

    @Jyagaimasu, as MrRansom has asked previously, can old cards be submitted?
  • edited May 19
    @Faiths_Guide, you could use my design to specifically gain life yourself (an immediately lose that life). You don't need to, but you could. Pair my design with Defiant Bloodlord, or Lich, or Sanguine Bond.

    The rules clearly say "create a MONO Black card which gains life. That is you that is gaining the life, not your opponent." It doesn't say "create a MONO Black card that makes you gain life." My card allows you to gain life, it just doesn't force you to do it. And yes, it allows an opponent to gain life, but it doesn't force that either. I guess we'll have to wait and see if my design gets disqualified. XD
  • edited May 19
    @MrRansom
    Absolutely correct, I just assumed that @Jyagaimasu meant that the card must in some way always gain "you" life and not be optional (as it say's "not your opponent"). I don't make the call here, just pointing it out XD
  • edited May 19
    Here's a new one:
    image

    Abilities or spells that result in destroying a creature (combat damage and similar doesn't do this directly and so wouldn't trigger) gain you a couple life! Very black IMO and "assassin-y"! It's also quite original as there are currently no existing official MTG cards with this same trigger. Bonus, the formatting looks beautiful!
  • edited May 20
  • edited May 19
    Here is a card:
    image
  • edited May 19
    image
    Entry two.
  • Sorry @Corwinnn @MrRansom @Faiths_Guide
    You caught me during my sleeping hours (There was 10 of them)

    Firstly, only new cards.

    Secondly, Yes, even though many black cards make you gain life, the challenge is to make a card that does it in a non-black way.

    Thirdly, @MrRansom's card is totally fine to be entered, it makes you gain life; not permanently, but it does.
  • edited May 20
    1.image2.image3.image
  • edited May 21
    Entry #1:

    image

    Entry #2:

    image

    Entry #3:

    image
This discussion has been closed.