URGENT- Dominaria's new formatting for multiple Keyword Abilities/Actions/Terms in reminder text!

edited April 12 in Tutorials
Hello!

Today, this Dominaria card was previewed.
image

This card is somewhat unexciting (maybe it could be playable in modern eggs?)... until you read it's reminder text.

(Artifacts, legendaries, and Sagas are historic. To scry 1, look at the top card of your library. You may put that card on the bottom of your library.)

Why am I telling you this? Well, this is the first time (to my knowledge) that we have a model for using two keyword abilities/ keyword actions/game terms in the reminder text of a single card. It appears that we're supposed to put the reminder text in the same order as the mechanics appear on the card. In this case, Scry comes after Historic since Historic appears first in the rules text of the card.

We can apply this to our own cards! For example, a couple months ago, I made this:
image
This is probably one of my favorite designs of my smithing career so far, but I had a slight issue making it. I had no idea how to do the reminder text for two keyword actions that appear in literally the same line of text. I didn't know if they should have been separate "reminder bubbles," if only one keyword action should have had reminder text, or if there shouldn't be any reminder text at all! In the end, I went with this:
(Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on that creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard. An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

It appears that I wasn't too far off the mark, but I should have put the reminder text for Exert first. Here is what I should have done:

(An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step. To explore, reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on that creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

What's the lesson here, what is the takeaway? Should we not mess with Maui while he's on a breakaway?

Well, clearly demigods are worth avoiding, but that's not the lesson in this instance. To sum up everything I have been saying, If we have multiple keyword abilities/ keyword actions/game terms in the same block of rules text, our reminder text should be in the order the keyword abilities/ keyword actions/game terms appear.

I hope you enjoyed this evaluation!

Thanks,
Kramp

Comments

Sign In or Register to comment.