The Artistic Diversity Challenge - Come and join!

In light of current events occurring all across the United States, Canada, and other countries around the world, I came to the realization that almost all of my artistic connections are whiter than Gavin Verhey's pasty derriere. Were you to ask me who my favorite black artist was, I wouldn't have even been able to list one. As an artist myself, this is both embarrassing and sickening. The fact that Wizards of the Coast has only employed black artists four times during Magic's lifespan, amidst thousands of commissions each year, certainly doesn't help.

I understand that I will always have racist biases whether I want them or not. I also understand that the best way to fight these racist biases is to become aware of them and make a conscious effort to reject them. To recognize black and colored artists, every day for 30 days I will discover a new black or colored artist and design a card based around their artwork. I invite you to join this challenge with me so we can fight our ignorance together. Just because this challenge is only a month long does not mean support for black and colored artists ends then. We all need to support black and colored artists now and forever. 

Everyone is welcome to start anytime and share their cards/artist discoveries. You're welcome to use a previously mentioned artist's work, but it's way cooler if you find one that hasn't been mentioned yet. If you need any other reason to participate in this challenge, I guess I can shower your cards with internet points too. And please spread the word and invite your friends! (cough cough @Faiths_Guide @sorinjace @murkletins @Gelectrode ;@MemoryHead)

Good luck everyone and stay safe. Let's all meet someone new today.

Comments

• Day 1: Featuring the artwork of Kelley Harris! 
    https://www.deviantart.com/krhart/gallery

Ursula Naayyyyy