Mechanic Encyclopedia for ALL



  • [ Example ] "Scrolls spells you control costs less {x} to cast until end of turn." (Instants and Sorceries are scrolls.)

    Scrolls is a word designed to save some room on the card. Specifically, for planewalkers. I hope that helped!
  • edited March 10
    All keywords provided in this list can be found with an example card(s) here in my Custom Keywords set:

    (This creature has no creature type and can't gain creature types.)
    Adorn (After this spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under its owner's control as a colorless enchantment. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it becomes the target of a spell or ability.)
    Ardent (This spell's generic mana cost must be paid with mana of different colors.)
    Bounteous (Damage dealt by this creature also causes each player to gain that much life.)
    Brutalize (Whenever this creature attacks for the first time each turn, you may untap it. If you do, after this combat phase, there is an additional combat phase. Only creatures with brutalize may attack during that combat phase.)
    Clemency (Whenever a source an opponent controls deals damage to this creature, you gain that much life.)
    Coalition (While an opponent is choosing targets as part of casting a spell they control or activating an ability they control, that player must choose at least one Flagbearer on the battlefield if able.)
    Corpulent (Whenever this creature blocks, it assigns combat damage equal to its toughness rather than its power until end of turn.)
    Elusive (If you find this card while searching your library, or look at it while it's in your library, put it on the bottom of your library instead of putting it anywhere else.)
    Fragmentize  (When a creature with fragmentize dies, exile it and create a number of 1/1 black Void creature tokens equal to its base power.)
    Great Rune (If this permanent would enter the battlefield from your graveyard, it loses its name, colors, and card types and becomes an emblem.)
    Hypersonic (You may put this card from your hand onto the battlefield during your declare attackers step. If you do, you lose the game at the beginning of your next upkeep unless you pay this card's mana cost.)
    Integrate (Whenever a permanent becomes attached to this creature, you may exile that permanent. If you do, put X +1/+1 counters on this creature, where X is the exiled permanent's mana value.)
    Intensify X (Numerical values printed on this card are increased by 1 for each opponent you have beyond the first. This does not include costs.)
    Outer (This card can't be in your starting deck as the game begins.)
    Overawe (If this creature enters the battlefield and its mana cost isn't paid, its controller loses the game.)
    Overburden (Permanents tapped for mana to cast this spell don't untap during their controller's next untap step.)
    Recurring (You may play this card from your graveyard if it left the battlefield this turn.)
    Stalwart (This permanent can't be returned to its owner's hand from the battlefield.)
    Sure Strike (This creature deals first strike damage when assigning combat damage and deals its damage first when it fights a creature.)
    Valor X (Whenever this creature blocks, it gets +X/+X for each creature it blocks beyond the first.)
    Vanguard {mana cost} ( {mana cost}, Return a blocking creature you control to its owner's hand. Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand or from the command zone blocking the creatures the returned creature blocked.)
    Voracious (This spell costs {1} less to cast for each creature your opponents control.)
    World-Spun (This card is every card type while in your library.)

    Mechanics that require further explanation:

    Behold the Divine -
    Behold the Divine is meant to play as a Domain sort of keyword, in which the condition of requiring only mana from basic lands to be spent to cast a spell is consistent between all cards with the keyword, but the effect when doing so changes from card to card.
    Example card:

    Core -
    A Core is a Legendary permanent that represents something integral and often sacred to the associated creature tribe in the lore of MTG. Similar in a way to the World enchantments of old, you can only control a single Core permanent at a time, regardless of its tribe. If a Core permanent enters under your control while you already control one, you choose one from among them to Exile. Core permanents also include a Core ability. While you control a Core permanent, creatures of the associated type (including any you own that aren't on the battlefield) gain the listed ability.

    For example:
    Realmbreaker, Hand of Phyrexia has "Affinity for Phyrexians" as its Core ability. As long you control Realmbreaker, any Phyrexians you own on or off the battlefield also have Affinity for Phyrexians until Realmbreaker leaves your control.
    Example card:

    Orbit (Permanents in orbit can't attack and have protection from non-orbiting sources. If a source would cause both orbiting and non-orbiting permanents a player controls to leave the battlefield, that source's controller must choose for either the orbiting permanents or the non-orbiting permanents that player controls to leave the battlefield instead.)

    The Orbit keyword is unique among the other's I've made in that it's complicated enough to be bound to a single card built specifically for it. That being said, it could potentially still be applied to other cards, though with no small amount of difficulty in terms of rulings and game state clarity.

    Example card:
  • edited March 30
    Gutless (This creature cannot be assigned to block any creature with power greater than or equal to this creature's toughness)  

    A downside inspired by the original cowardly orcs of Dominaria

    Stoneclaw Bullies
  • If Gutless is meant to keep the creature alive and is a callback to Ironclaw cards, it should prevent the blocking of creatures "with power equal to or greater than this creature's toughness."
  • New keyword: Beloved (This permanent can't be sacrificed.)

  • MarvelousHavel I like the mechanic, I would limit it to preventing you from sacing it because only you love it.
  • That's true, but I can't think of many instances in which a player that doesn't control the Pendant can have it sacrificed. I feel like 99% of the time the way its worded plays the same as "sources you control can't cause you to sacrifice this permanent."
  • I now realize you probably meant that it should read that ONLY the Pendant's owner can't sac it. With how many ways to sac artifacts WotC has printed over the last few sets, I thought it would play poorly if you gave a player control of the legendary artifact you just cast, only to have it sacrificed by them to gain advantage off of. Also in reference to this specific card, the joke is that the Pendant belongs to Ayara, the Widowed Queen from Eldraine, who in the lore has many suitors that they hate, hence this pendant being "Beloved" by all of them. 
  • Detritus {cost} ( Pay {cost} and return a land from your graveyard to the battlefield tapped in addition to paying this spell's mana cost.  Exile it as it resolves.)

    This is the mechanic that will be the mechanical identity of the plane Pacificannus in my final two custom sets.


    Seabed Stir up     {X}{1}{u}{u}{r}
    Sorcery                            Rare
    Detritus {b}{b}

    Shuffle X non-permanent spells from your graveyard into your library.  If you cast this spell for its Detritus cost, shuffle X permanent spells from your graveyard into your library.
  • I was considering making a mechanic that would take advantage of the land walks. I know that the land walks are not a very popular theme. So, I am not sure whether this would be feasible.

    The mechanic I was thinking of is called ManipuLand: (During combat on your turn, you may change a land you don't control to a different land type until your combat ends.)

    It would allow you to change an opponent's land so that you could use a land walk and not be blocked by an opponent when you attack,

    I haven't made any cards with it yet.  I wanted to get people's thought on the idea.
  • @SkamosBlackbard

    ManipuLand seems like an interesting mechanic that could potentially make land walks more viable and add an element of surprise to combat. However, it could also create some balance issues if not implemented carefully.

    One concern is that this mechanic could make it too easy to bypass an opponent's defenses, especially if the opponent has invested heavily in their lands. It could also be difficult to balance the power level of ManipuLand cards, as changing an opponent's land type can have a significant impact on the game.

    Overall, it could be a fun and unique addition to the game if done well, but it would require careful balancing and testing to ensure it doesn't create any overwhelming or frustrating gameplay experiences.

  • ManipuLand would probably be on artifacts or instants. it would be a once per turn interaction and the land would revert back to its original type at the end of that combat turn. As for the land walks, I would only have two or three per color in the entire set, probably mostly small powered commons and uncommons, that I was going to put it in. The set would encourage monocolored decks so this would be only a small part of the set as a whole.
  • edited May 2

    Here is an example:

  • edited June 1
    I was inspired by "venture into the dungeon" and the upcoming "the Ring tempts you" mechanics, and designed "gaze into the Abyss." Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    Gaze into the Abyss The Abyss

    And here's a normal card which uses the mechanic:

    Doomed Warrior
Sign In or Register to comment.